A trip to the land of thunder dragon

On 24th June, Baba, Ma and I went to Dhaka airport. 15 other people also joined us there. Altogether there were five families. Our flight was on 10:40 am. I sat with my friend Mobasser and Royal uncle. It took 45 minutes to go to Bhutan by Druk Air.

When we went there we saw that the airport is very nice. There were many designs on the roof of main building and the airport was surrounded by mountains. All the roofs in Bhutan had designs on them. The name of the place was Paro. From there we travelled by a coach. The driver’s name was Mr. Kinle. I sat on the front seat beside the driver’s seat. We went to Thimphu, the capital of Bhutan from Paro. It took 1 hour to go. The distance was around 60 kilometers. We went to a hotel called Hotel Migmar. It was a very nice hotel. We stayed at room no. 101. Our room was very nice. There were 2 beds and 1 small bed. Royal Uncle’s room was very big and gorgeous. That was the best room I have ever seen. There was a king sized bed and a small bed. There were many sofas and a dining table. At the bathroom there was a bathtub and also shower. There were spot lights.

After having lunch at hotel we went to a pagoda. I took many pictures there. It has a very nice scenic view. I saw a very large statue of Gautama Buddha from far distance. Then we went to a top of mountain for sightseeing the Thimphu valley. After that we went to the zoo. There were many deer and Takins. Takin is Bhutan’s national animal. I took pictures of Takins. After visiting the zoo we went to the city center of Bhutan. It is a big courtyard surrounded by many shops. A clock tower was there. We were all hungry so the kids and I ate chips and everyone else drank tea and coffee. When our coach came we back to our hotel. We ate our dinner with Bhutanese food at hotel restaurant.



The next morning we went to the Bhutan’s’ king’s office. It was a very nice place. There were gardens at the side of the buildings. Me and my father took many pictures there. From there we went to a vegetable market. It was so clean and dry. We bought peach, asparagus and spices. After shopping in the market we went to the handmade paper factory. It was raining so many of us did not go there. We went back to hotel, packed and started for Paro.






After 1 hour drive we reached at the hotel named Tiger’s Nest Resort, on the way to Tigernest Resort we had lunch on a restaurant called Hotel Airport. This resort is nicer than hotel Migmar. There were gardens and courtyard. The room was big and nice. It was decorated with colorful woods and paintings. In the room there were 2 beds. In the evening we went for a walk. We walked about 1 kilometer and came back. Me and Mobasser’s grandfather ran and came because it was raining. Everyone else came by a taxi. I went Arup uncle’s room to visit Omit. Omit had fever. When I went there I saw him watching Star Cricket. It was the match h of Sri Lanka vs England. I supported Sri Lanka. That time Sri Lanka was batting. Sri Lanka did not play well and scored 128. England won the match by 7 wickets. We went to eat dinner. After eating dinner I went to sleep.




Next morning I woke up at 6:30 am and we ate our breakfast. We went to a place with our bus and from there we all rode on a horse except Baba and Royal uncle. I rode on a golden color horse. My horse was not so good. It always went from the side of the road and it was shaking me. We were going up to the Tiger’s nest monastery. It was told that a man came from Tibet by riding a tigress and built the Buddhist monastery. It is called the Tiger’s Nest. It was made 10 thousand 6 hundred feet high up in the mountain. It took 1 hour to go to Taktshang cafeteria. The café was half way there. We took rest there. After 1 hour Baba and Royal uncle came on their feet. They were very tired.



After taking rest some of us went to the Tiger’s Nest and some of us stayed in the cafeteria. Ma also went and after few minutes later she came back. I also went with Mobasser’s grandfather. When I was resting on a big rock he went past me. I thought I should not go alone so I went down. When I was going down I saw 2 foreigners, Manha and Runu aunty going up, so I decided I would also go with them. Manha and the foreigners were walking fast. I and Runu Aunty were walking alone. After walking for 20 minutes my head started to hurt. At the morning breakfast table Baba told everyone that because of our headache we have to go down to restore oxygen, my Baba knows many things about trekking safety. Runu Aunty and I decided that we should go down. We back to the cafeteria again. I saw that Ma and Mobasser were sleeping in a chair. I sat in the chair and I was waiting for the food.
After half an hour, before the food was served, Mobasser and I went inside the cafeteria. I asked him what his hobby is. He told me that his hobby is to pass the time by eating and watching television. I was laughing hearing his hobby. He told me that he eats 5 breads in his breakfast. His weight is 63 kg and my weight is 35 kg. After eating lunch Baba told me and Mobasser to hold a flag that be brought. We hold the flag and Baba took pictures.

After 1 hour we went down by walking. It was raining. The down trek was awesome. Me, Drubo bhaiya and Duti apu was at the first. It took only 30 minutes to go down. Then we went to a medieval forte. Many of us did not go there. Baba took many pictures of us there. After that Baba and me back to the hotel and everyone else went to a market. I took a hot shower.
Next morning I and Baba took lots of pictures. Then we went to the airport and then to Bangladesh. I like Bhutan very much.

All pictures except 4 are taken by me.

20 thoughts on “A trip to the land of thunder dragon

  1. Dear Matis, Excellent writing. It’s really a travelog where a viewer expresses his inner-sights as well as explores the events in details. Keep it up. I would be happy if you write some nice logs based on your Bangladesh visit. Thanks.

  2. Nice blog, Matisse! The photos are great. I have a 10 yrs old daughter – Promi, she will find this very interesting 🙂

  3. I guess its the frist time I was reading your travelog … Throughout the reading, It felt like I could see everything in front of my eyes. Extremely good write-up. Keep ’em coming.

  4. I really enjoyed your blog. Especially your newest one – The photos are amazing. You must miss being in these places. Keep me up to date, please!
    Mrs. Kightley

Leave a comment