Khidirpur day hike

I have an uncle named Sajal. He invited me and my baba for a hike. Sajal uncle is a trekker, mountaineer also a movie director. Recently, he went to climb Mount Everest but he fell sick after climbing twenty-four thousand feet. He took my camera with him. I saw the picture of Himalaya when he gave it back to me.
The trek was in Khidirpur. Next morning at 7:00 am, I and Baba went to Gulistan Golap Shah Majar by car. It is told that there is a grave on the divider of the road. 12 people were waiting for us. Sajal uncle told us that we have to wait for another person to come. I didn’t know anyone other than Sajal uncle in the group. So, he introduced me to them. I said hello with everybody. After 10 minutes that person came. Altogether there were 15 people. Among them there was a foreigner named Dave Washington. He is from London and came here after visiting Nepal.
We didn’t know where the bus was. We went searching for a bus which could go to Kuchiamara Bridge. After searching for a long time we found a local bus that could go to Kuchiamara Bridge which is also called Dholeshweri River Bridge.
We got on to the bus. It was very small and congested. The seats were open. It stopped at many places and took passengers. The bus went across the Buriganga river bridge. After 40 minutes we reached at Kuchiamara. We all were hungry so we went to a small restaurant and ate our breakfast. Then we start walking. After walking around 2 kilometers we stopped for a tea break. There I saw jute being dried. I also saw a very funny thing. A goat was walking around; it was coated in turmeric and looked orange.
After resting at the restaurant we went to walk again. The road was under construction, both side of the road was green and a blue sky over there. I have seen many brickfields towards our journey. Sometimes the river was close to the road, village boys were jumping on the water from the road and playing in the water. On the side of the road there were many big size pots. It is used on wedding feasts for cooking. The road was not busy, but everyone we met always asked that where is we from and where are we going.
It was a sunny day and temperature was very high. We were very tired walking under the sun. We stopped many times to rest, washed our face and filled our water bottle. Altogether we walked about 8 km and reached Khidirpur village. It is Sajal uncle’s nanabari. I was so tired that I sat down on the door-step. There, I took my shoes off and Baba massaged my feet. By this time, Sony uncle climbed coconut tree and plucked the coconuts. We all ate coconut and drank salted coconut water for energy. After eating, we went to the river bank. All men except Baba and I swam in the river. After two hours, we went for our lunch. The lunch was delicious. I ate rice with lemon and chicken. After eating I took a nap about 10 minutes. Then we went to a bazaar.
All of us took tea except me. From there we took an engine boat. I liked the journey by boat. It took about two hour 30 minutes to reach Sadarghut. We have seen many drezars taking out sands from river beds. There were many ships, engine boats and boats carrying sands. The ships were very big. Many people were building ships.
In the water we didn’t saw any fishing because there is much pollution. We took a rickshaw and went to the Ruplal House. Ruplal House was one of the nicest houses in Bangladesh. It was built 200 years ago. It used to be very beautiful once but now it fades. After visiting Ruplal house, we went for searching our car. I saw our car from far away. Baba told Sajal uncle, Sony uncle and Khokon uncle go with us. We dropped Sony uncle and Khokon uncle at Polton and Sajal uncle at Mogbazar.

Photo: The group

Photo: Me at Ruplal house

1 thought on “Khidirpur day hike

Leave a comment